URGENT – Change of Venue for 8th February

I’ve had to move the readings on Sunday 8th February from the Great Grog Bar to a café-style hall in St Cuthbert’s Church. It’s at 5 Lothian Road, just behind the big St John’s Episcopal Church on the corner of Princes Street and Lothian Road.

It’s a ‘Bring Your Own Bottle’ venue (I’ve been told that alcoholic drinks are fine). I’ll bring along plastic glasses, a corkscrew and a bottle-opener.

The reason is because Scotland are playing Wales at rugby on Sunday and every bar in Rose Street will be packed with drunk, noisy rugby fans. I don’t follow rugby and only found out when the manager of the Great grog phoned me to let me know. Trying to hold a poetry reading in a bar with competition from hundreds of rugby fans through a thin wall would be a fruitless exercise. The hall in St Cuthbert’s looks good and I’m sure it’s the best solution.

To say the last few hours have been stressful is an understatement. I am normally calm under pressure, but I now feel exhausted from the stress! However, at least things now seem to have been resolved and I’m looking forward to some great readings on Sunday evening.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

